Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

How to use Merge Fields: To create or edit any letter, go to Setup | Parameters | Letters. See Add Letters and, Customize and Edit Letters. To set up Automated Emails, see Auto Letters Setup. To start using Merge Fields: 

  • Open Letter: choose the Letter you want to edit by clicking on the Letter I.D. The Letter will open in an Editor 
  • Editor Toolbar: The toolbar at the top has many features you can use to customize your Letter including Merge fields used to place booking, financial and guest information from your records and transactions. 
  • BookingCenter "globe" icon: To see a list of merge fields, click on the the  in the top left corner of the editor.

To insert the value of the merge field you want, place your cursor at the location in Letter you want it to appear. Then, click on the desired value from the merge fields list

To change or edit your Merge fields in the Letter, highlight the field and click on the BookingCenter "globe" icon in the top-left of the editor. Choose the new field from the drop down menu and it  will replace the highlighted field. 


Merge Fields available for Group Letters. See below for details on each field.

  • Today's Date - Inserts the date of the current day. 
  • Hotel Details - Inserts Hotel details: Entered in SETUP|SETTINGS|SITE DETAILS. See Site Details
  • Guest Booking Data - Inserts the data entered in group Booking Information Section of the Booking Data. See See Booking Details 
  • Group Booking Details - Inserts details entered in the Booking Information for the group and the contact person. See Group Booking Details 
  • Marketing and Policies - Inserts information from Marketing and Policies. SETUP|SETTINGS|MARKETING AND POLICIES See Marketing and Policies
    Financials - Inserts financial information from the Payment Information and Folio of Booking Data. For more details, see Letters: Merge Fields - Financials See Group Booking Details- Folio  

The tables below lists all current variables that may be used in creating letter templates. Click on each title to see Merge Field details

 Date and Hotel Details

Example of Merge Fields in Letter

Date

Merge FieldIdentifier

Today's Date

%%todays-date%%




Hotel Details

Merge FieldIdentifier

Hotel Name

%%hotel-name%%

Hotel Address

%%hotel-address1%%

Hotel Address2

%%hotel-address2%%

Hotel City

%%hotel-city%%

Hotel State

%%hotel-state%%

Hotel Zip

%%hotel-zip%%

Hotel Country

%%hotel-country%%

Hotel 800 Phone

%%hotel-tollfree-phone%%
Hotel Main Phone%%hotel-main-phone%%
Hotel Fax%%hotel-main-fax%%

Hotel Email

%%hotel-email%%
 Group Booking Data

Example of Merge Fields in Letter

Guest Booking Data

Merge FieldIdentifier
Group Name%%group_name%%
Group Title%%group_booking_title%%
Full Name 
First Name%%guest-first-name%%
Last Name%%guest-last-name%%
Full Address%%guest-title%%
Address%%guest-address1%%
City%%guest-city%%
State%%guest-state%%
 Zip%%guest-zip%%
Country%%guest-country%%
Business  Phone%%work-phone%%
Home Phone%%home_phone%%
Cell%%cell_phone%%
Fax%%guest-fax%%
Dear%%dear%%
Email%%email%%
Name on Credit Card%%name-on-credit-card%%
Credit Card Number%%credit-card-number%%
Group Comments%%group-comments%%
 Group Booking Details

Group Booking Details

Merge FieldIdentifier

Confirmation Number

%%reservation-identifier%%

Status %%status%%
Source%%group_source%%
Market%%market_name%%

Arrival Date

%% reservation-arriving-date%%

Departure Date

%% reservation-departing-date%%

Company Name%%company-name%%
Travel Agent%%travel_agent%%
Booking Comments%%booking-comments%%
Rooming List (terse)
%%room-list%%
Rooming List (verbose)
%%room-list-verbose%%
Group List Count %%group_count%%
Cancellation Number%%cancellation_number%%
 Marketing and Policies

Marketing and Policies

Merge FieldIdentifier
Cancellation Policy%%cancellation-policy%%
Deposit Policy%%deposit-policy%%
Marketing Message%%marketing-message%%
Retrictions%%restrictions%%
Site Description%%description%%
Location Description%%location-description%%
Customer Reviews%%customer-reviews%%
Registration%%registration%%
Thank you Message%%thank-you-message%%
Driving Directions%%driving-directions%%
 Financials

 

Financials

Merge FieldIdentifier
Projected Income%%total-cost%%
Project Income & Charges%%projected_income_charges%%
Projected Accommodation Cost%%projected-accommodation-cost%%
Projected Accommodation Tax%%projected-accommodation-tax%%
Group Revenue%%group-revenue%%
Balance due upon arrival%%balance-due%%
Folio Balance%%folio-balance%%
Folio Charges Total%%folio-charge-total%%
Folio Payments Total%%total-payments%%
Display all Folio Items%%write-folio%%
Tax 1 Rate % (Primary)%%main-tax%%
Tax 2 Rate % (Secondary)%%main-tax2%%
Tax 1 Total%%tax1-total%%
Tax 2 Total%%tax2-total%%
Sum of all additional Taxes%%additional-tax-total%%
Tax Totals%%total-taxes%%
 Group Booking Engine

 

Group Booking Engine

Merge FieldIdentifier
User ID
%%reservation-identifier%%
Password%%password%%
Group Booking Engine 


 



Note:

  • If you insert a merge field that involves payment in the Folio, the field will appear blank if there aren't any transactions in the Folio yet.
  • A common request from customers is for Charges, Rents, and Payments to be seen on a confirmation.  If your business policy is to place the RENT charges on the folio at time of booking, then 'Display All Folio Items' will be the right choice.
  • However, if you pre-book some Charges, such as a spa or transportation charge, but let Night Audit post the RENT charges (most common), and you wish for a Guest to get a clear indication of what has been charged and will be charged, then use the 'Display All Folio Items' for the Charges posted and, in another section of your Letter, the 'Daily Rate Grid' so that 'current' charges on a folio are on one portion of the letter, and the 'projected' Rate Grid is on another portion of the letter.  This allows the Guest to see what will be charged, assuming dates and rates don't change.

 

  • No labels